Callow Hall was built in 1849-1852 in two parallel ranges, two storeys and a four bay front. It was originally designed as a much more ambitious Jacobean-style three storey house by H.J.Stevens in 1848 for John Goodwin Johnson, but later reduced in scale.
A range at right angles builds the main block and was originally intended for stables but was adapted as the service wing, there is a small belfry tower within the angle.
The hall was sold within twenty years of completion to the Buckstones, who later let it to Harcourt-Capper, Henniker and Claypon Wood, and eventually sold it to A.F.Longdon, finally it was sold between the wars to G.E.Gather a local family.
The Spencer family purchased the house and commence renovation into a country house hotel and finally opened their doors as a family run business in 1982. After operation for 26 years in business the hotel was sold to Von Essen Hotels.
Callow Hall is now firmly back in family ownership. The Hardman family who own the award winning East Lodge Country House Hotel & Restaurant acquired this iconic hotel just before Christmas 2011.